A. Gabrieli – Missa Vexilla Regis and Motets

Missa Vexilla Regis and Motets

I Cantori di San Marco
Alice Borciani, Elena Modena, Julio Fioravante, Marco Mustaro,
Dino Luethy, Yiannis Vassilakis, Marcin Wyszkowski
Conductor: Marco Gemmani

Andrea Gabrieli (1533–1585)

  1. Maria Magdalenae
  2. Maria stabat ad monumentum
  3. Angelus Domini descendit
  4. Hodie Christus natus est
  5. Angelus ad pastores ait
  6. Eructavit cor meum
  7. Isti sunt triumphatores
  8. Beatus vir qui non abiit
  9. Iniquos odio habui
  10. Domine Deus meus
  11. Emendemus in melius
  12. Iudica me Deus
  13. Sancta Maria succurre miseris
  14. O gloriosa Domina

Missa Vexilla Regis

  1. Kyrie
  2. Gloria
  3. Credo
  4. Sanctus
  5. Benedictus
  6. Agnus Dei

We usually think of Andrea Gabrieli as one who writes magnificent poly-choral works using a great amount of means. On the  other hand, a small number of people is aware of his six and seven-voice compositions, whose particularly dense and complex structure, from the point of view of the counterpoint, requires a performance in “parti reali”. This program shows an unknown side of the venetian composer, which better express his creativity and his ability to create different musical situations, going from the untouchable, heavenly sound, all the way through, to the greatly dynamic.

Duration: 70 minutes


  • A. Gabrieli, Maria Magdalenae
  • A. Gabrieli, Isti sunt triumphatores